An unforgettable experience

November 19, 2009

AMY MACPHERSON, Community Ensemble Participant

Last night was the first time I’d rehearsed on stage at the Coliseum in costume, and oh my goodness it’s all extremely exciting. Lying on the beautiful mirrored floor of the stage for one scene, looking up at the soaring dome of the Coliseum above me, hearing the chorus singing all around us – it’s all adding up to be an unforgettable experience.

I am quite childishly delighted to have my own special seat in the dressing room with my name on the mirror! The backstage world of calls over the tannoy, dressers and wardrobe assistants, waiting in the wings and getting glimpses of the onstage action between our scenes, the rabbit warren of rooms and staircases – it’s all fascinating.

The only thing that strikes me as a shame is that I’ll never get to see what the show looks like from out in the audience – but that is a small price to pay!

Leave a Reply

