Details!

October 29, 2009

JANA PHILLIPS, ENO Baylis Project Manager

I’m just gearing up for another rehearsal and my mind is reeling from all the things that need to be finalised. I don’t think I quite realised how much planning and organisation goes into staging each production at the London Coliseum!

Meanwhile, I’ve had a couple of days away from the office and I’m really looking forward to catching up with the Community Ensemble.

Since I’ve seen them last, many of the group attended a “Know the Show” event based on the ENOs current production of Turandot. They had the chance to learn and sing various sections of the opera. I got a call from Abbey today (one of the community ensemble who went along for the event) and she said it was exhausting but amazing. She’d never had the chance to sing like that. She also learnt to breathe in a particular way to make her voice sound different and to extend the notes.

On Tuesday evening, I arranged another singing session for the group (they won’t be singing onstage so I want them to have the chance to sing off stage!). Nic Chalmers – the assistant chorus master – came in to lead a session on the ‘Hallelujah Chorus’ and the group had a great time. I’ve posted a blog from attendee, Nicole – you can read more about what happened in the session…

Leave a Reply

